Author Topic: Is Robinhood good for building dividend portfolio?  (Read 3782 times)

Fuperw84

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is Robinhood good for building dividend portfolio?
« on: May 15, 2018, 03:19:28 AM »
I'm planning to invest only a small amount monthly ($100) is blue chips dividend stocks. I want to take advantage of $0 fee from Robinhood. Anyone that have used Robinhood, is this a good brokerage firm for buying longterm dividend stocks?

DrumAllDay

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Is Robinhood good for building dividend portfolio?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2018, 07:08:22 AM »
I am doing this with extra money I have leftover from my main investments. I am working on building my own dividend portfolio of like 20 companies or so. I originally signed up with Robinhood for the free stock and I have been using it for a couple months and I have no problems with it.

$0 trading fees are definitely nice, although I plan on buying and holding most of my stocks so it's not like I would be paying a lot of trading fees anyway. Just be aware dividends are not automatically reinvested.

RWD

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2018, 07:19:28 AM »
Fuperw84, you're still trying to buy individual stocks? No, no, no. You've lost six figures in the last three years and you still think you can pick winning stocks? Just buy the index and stop fiddling already!

Fuperw84

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2018, 08:16:35 AM »
Fuperw84, you're still trying to buy individual stocks? No, no, no. You've lost six figures in the last three years and you still think you can pick winning stocks? Just buy the index and stop fiddling already!

These are blue chips stocks i'm buying though. Plan to hold for 10-20 years. No trading here. $100 monthly is only 1.4% of my overall monthly income.

RWD

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2018, 08:27:13 AM »

These are blue chips stocks i'm buying though. Plan to hold for 10-20 years. No trading here. $100 monthly is only 1.4% of my overall monthly income.