Author Topic: Is my company's stock purchase plan worth it?  (Read 6756 times)

the_fella

• Stubble
Is my company's stock purchase plan worth it?
« on: July 13, 2015, 04:00:40 PM »
We purchase the stock at market rate, but pay no fees. I'm just not sure if it would even be worth my time since it's at market rate. Fwiw, I'm 24 years old.

Kernel Fielding

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Is my company's stock purchase plan worth it?
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2015, 04:22:21 PM »
I'm not an expert on employee stock plans by any means, but that doesn't sound like a very enticing one to me.

To give you a for instance, my employer's ESPP issues stock at the lower market price at the start or end for the six month period of the plan, and discounts that price by another 15% when the purchased stock is issued.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2015, 06:17:26 PM by cuthbert »

MoonShadow

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2015, 04:41:52 PM »
What company?

clifp

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2015, 04:51:32 PM »
We purchase the stock at market rate, but pay no fees. I'm just not sure if it would even be worth my time since it's at market rate. Fwiw, I'm 24 years old.

Most ESPP provide a discount of 10-15% off the fair market rate.  Many also let you buy stock at the lower of the beginning or end of the quarter or 6 month period.  With those provision they are a great deal. Without those features there is no need to buy company stock just because there isn't a fee associated with them.

MoonShadow

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2015, 04:59:20 PM »