Author Topic: Investments return 2017 (Canadian Mustachian)  (Read 12877 times)

max9505672

• Bristles
Investments return 2017 (Canadian Mustachian)
« on: August 17, 2017, 04:52:59 PM »
Hey guys!

I've been investing since March 2017, so I'm pretty new to all this. I've been reading many posts here, and people seem to have good returns since the beginning of the year, but this isn’t the case for me and I am wondering if I am doing something wrong or maybe misinterpreted the results.

Quick overview of my sitation.

AA:
·         50% US – Mainly VTI in RRSP and XAW in TFSA
·         20% Canada – Mainly VCN in Margin and TFSA
·         20% RoW – Mainly XAW in TFSA
·         10% bonds – Mainly VAB in TFSA

Here are the results (excluding dividends) for my investments :

Taxable   VCN   -3.59   %
            VUN   -5.32   %

TFSA          XAW   -0.77   %
           VCN   -5.00   %
           VAB   -1.12   %

RRSP     VCN   -3.43   %
           VTI   2.82   %
           VUN   -5.79   %

There's been a good rise in April, but since then it hasn't been so good and now I have a negative P&L (it paid some dividends though).

So, I know this is all long term goal but I'm just wondering if I am doing something wrong? Is my AA so different that it would have different results than most people?

Thanks
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 05:43:26 AM by max9505672 »

Le Barbu

• Handlebar Stache
  • I really didn’t say everything I said - Y. B.
Re: Investments return 2017 (Canadian Mustachian)
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2017, 08:49:59 PM »
Everything is ok, invest more!

The recent rally of our CAD reduce US and Intl return in CAD but you can buy more XAW, VTI etc.

You seem to handle your investments properly (asset allocation, etf choice)

I am 30%ZCN (RESP, taxable), 35%US and 35% Intl. (VTI and VXUS in RRSP and XAW in TFSA) no bonds at all...

Freedomin5

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 09:27:51 PM »