Author Topic: Investment strategy  (Read 6415 times)

YoungStache

• Stubble
Investment strategy
« on: October 02, 2014, 08:08:35 AM »
Hello everyone!

I've been lurking on the blog and forum for a few weeks and I've become passionately excited about the prospect of becoming financially independent and retiring much earlier than retirement age. I graduated college last year and began my career earlier this year so previously I had not given much thought to finances and investing (did not have the means or priorities). Some things about me:

I have a job making around 75K a year, with overtime shifts available weekly at the drop of a hat.

-I have a $85,000 15-year fixed mortgage at 3.625% for my condo which cost $215,000 (mom paid for the difference in a down payment). It is walking distance to work and I have a roommate paying me rent for the other room.

-I am contributing the max 6% to my company 401(a), which has a 4.5% company match. *The plan is after-tax contributions*

-I have 0 student or credit card debt.

**I am looking for some seasoned mustacheans to give me some pointers in investment strategy**

-My mom thinks that I should get a home equity loan in 6 months and buy a 2nd property as a rental. I am not sure if I am psychologically ready to go through the process of buying a 2nd property, or become a landlord. I plan on selling my condo in 2 years and moving home to San Francisco to live in my dad's house to save $ and also work for higher wages.

-Currently, should I open a Roth IRA and contribute the maximum yearly? Or should I go with a regular vanguard investment account?
-How should I allocate my stocks? US vs International? What are the pros and cons of the different vanguard stocks?
-Is my mom's idea feasible? The real estate market is expensive in San Diego and I do not like the idea of owning another condo because of the HOA fees, which is why I plan on selling my condo in a few years and investing the money.
-Any other ideas?