Author Topic: Investment from in Switzerland? (Beginner)  (Read 2411 times)

Rogethepoge

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investment from in Switzerland? (Beginner)
« on: November 16, 2018, 06:48:52 AM »
Hi,

I am a newbie; I am living Switzerland and I am looking to get started on investing. My goal is to buy a small house in the country side and have a regular income stream from investments which would allow me to live a simple life - I would like to achieve this goal within the next 8-10 years.

Over the past few months I have tried everything to educate myself on investing and honestly I have just been overwhelmed with information - I feel like I am getting nowhere.  I have come to the conclusion that I just want a really simple investment - having read the MMM blogs I know that it is recommended for a beginner like me to invest in index funds such as vanguard index funds. I checked out the vanguard website and found that there are lots of different index funds available; needless to say I was/am completely lost as to which index fund is the best one for me; besides I wouldn't even know how to go about buying the index funds which are available (I have a SaxoBank Trader Account but I find that platform so confusing I am a danger to myself when I use the thing!). So I began to research services like Truewealth (which, seemingly, is similar Betterment, but has received mixed reviews) that will do the selection of ETFs for me and rebalancing etc. but since the company is Swiss based there is a lot of focus on Swiss index (I am not convinced that is good).

I really don't know what is the best way for me to get started on investing? Should I just buy an index fund myself and just leave it sit there for a few years; or would it be better for me to use the services of a Company like Truewealth? If the former then exactly what index funds should I buy to start? and how do I go about buying those index funds from Switzerland?