Author Topic: Investing vs. Student Debt  (Read 4840 times)

InItForTheLongRun

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing vs. Student Debt
« on: January 23, 2014, 10:51:40 PM »
Hi All,

I'm new to the forum and hoping I can get some financial advice.

Background: I graduated from college in 2012 and have been working full time for a year and a half. I was never really taught the value of money and have gone through life spending unwisely. After evaluating my lifestyle, I decided it's time for some change. I still live with my parents and give them money every week to cover my monthly bills and any extra that's left over from the month they'll use towards groceries or other expenses. I want to start a Roth IRA and build my emergency fund, while trying to repay my student loans ASAP. Here's a breakdown of my financial situation:

Student Loan Debt: $26K @ 6.8%
Total Checking/Savings Balance: $8,000
No Credit Card Debt

Monthly Student Loan Payment:$1,000 (Well above the $400 minimum in order to get rid of ASAP)
Monthly Bills/Groceries: $1,000
Average Monthly Expenses: $900
Average Monthly Deposit into Savings: $400
I'm working on reducing monthly expenses by reducing unnecessary spending, but let's assume that I continue at this rate.

Emergency Fund: If I were to become unemployed, I'd reduce my student loan payments to the minimum of $400, which would make my monthly expenses $2,300. I know 6 months is a good standard for an emergency fund, but with my current savings, I can last 3 months. I want to start investing in a Roth IRA so I don't miss out on starting early to take advantage of the compounding interest and it gives me the convenience of withdrawing contributions without penalty.

Is this a good idea? If so, how much should I take from my average monthly savings deposit to put towards it?

Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated.

JOHNFRANK

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • BAYZAT.COM
Re: Investing vs. Student Debt
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2014, 03:33:23 AM »