Author Topic: Investing via a Family Trust - Australia  (Read 8442 times)

TJEH

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing via a Family Trust - Australia
« on: March 25, 2015, 04:02:22 AM »
I'm very new to the concept of FIRE, which I've been learning from MMM and other such sites. However it seems I'd been working towards that possible scenario for many years, as we've been living well within our means and saving well (though not investing much). It has taken MMM to make we realize that we may be much closer than I think, certainly <5 years should be possible, perhaps even sooner.

I'm planning to invest some funds in the ASX shortly. I'm trying to decide whether it's worth establishing a family trust to hold the investments so we have some flexibility over distribution of the income.

At the moment, my wife is working, with any investment income falling into the 37% tax bracket. I've taken a break from work for the time being (or perhaps forever!). If I go back in my current profession, the marginal tax rate would either be 37% or possibly 45%. I would say it's unlikely we'll both be working simultaneously, as we have two small children to look after.

The key things I can think of that would affect my decision re holding the investments in the trust are as follows.

1. How much will our investments generate? I really don't know how to forecast this yet, as I haven't established a suitable portfolio (another post on that one I think!).

2. The marginal tax rates for my wife and I over the coming years. As I mentioned above, this may change as either of us drop in or out of the workforce.