Author Topic: Investing through a personal Holding Company  (Read 3658 times)

swisstash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing through a personal Holding Company
« on: May 25, 2014, 02:34:59 AM »
Does anybody here use a Holding Company to own their investments? How does that work out for you?

I am a small business owner and I am in the process of transferring (selling) my operating company to a personal holding company. The advantage is that the holding company won't pay tax on dividends (whereas I would personally). The disadvantage is that my income will be parked in a holding company instead of my personal account. (I don't want to leave it parked in the operating company due to risks and liabilities.)

I would like to invest the profits for my family's long-term financial independence. I am considering opening a trading account for the holding company and buying index funds with the intention to hold them for 10+ years. Then question is whether this is a good idea or a bad idea. I'd love to know what others can tell me based on their own experiences.

I am based in Switzerland so this is a Swiss Holding Company http://www.kpmg.com/CH/en/Library/Articles-Publications/Documents/Tax/pub-20130719-swiss-holding-companies-en.pdf.

bigchrisb

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Investing through a personal Holding Company
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2014, 06:03:55 PM »
Hi,

I do this, but in Australia.  I don't know what the Swiss tax laws are like, so some of this may apply.

Pros:
- What I didn't pay as a wage came as dividends into my holding company. This means I was waxed at the corporate tax rate (now 30%, soon 28%) rather than my marginal tax rate (48%).  That is an immediate gain on the money, provided I want to hold and invest it, rather than spend it.
- Any earnings from the investments made are taxed at the corporate tax rate (as above).