Author Topic: investing signifiant money while living abroad  (Read 1720 times)

MichelleD1977

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
investing signifiant money while living abroad
« on: September 20, 2015, 07:36:11 PM »
Hi everyone,
My husband and I will be living abroad in New Delhia, India for 1 year.  Our income will increase significantly (for us at least) during that time, with only food/entertainment for expenses, so that we'll be able to use a large portion of our income to work towards financial independence. We hope to invest 40,000-50,000 over a period of 1 year, probably on a monthly basis as we get paid.  We do have a 401 K (TIAA Kref) of around 150,000 already. I'm new to investing money besides the 401 K, and am not sure how to proceed to maximize our investment while minimizing taxes, never mind the possible wrench of living abroad (or does this even matter?). The money I've quoted above is post-taxation in India.

Thanks!

rmendpara

• Pencil Stache
Re: investing signifiant money while living abroad
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2015, 07:39:59 AM »
Assuming you're still classified as a US citizen and employee, your benefits will likely stay. I'd check with your HR dept on if you are still allowed to contribute to 401k while living abroad.

Otherwise, your income is still subject to US taxation since you are US citizens (I'm assuming?), so it's nearly the same as if you were just working in the US since the IRS taxes individuals on worldwide income. Things get complicated, so best to talk to a tax accountant specializing in expatriate tax to make sure you understand everything and don't make any big mistakes.

As far as investing, I'd keep things the same. If possible, continue to add to 401k, and maybe even IRAs (if your income allows). Perhaps a 529 plan if you have future kids in the plans (somewhat tax advantaged).