Author Topic: Investing recommendations for someone just starting  (Read 2096 times)

bri_elena

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing recommendations for someone just starting
« on: August 17, 2017, 03:40:46 PM »
Hi,

I am a college student and I really resonate with the ideas of this website. I don't have a financial education and I want to learn how to invest in index funds, TFSA, real estate buying and selling and other means that moustachians consider wise . Can you recommend me some books or online resources  ?

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Re: Investing recommendations for someone just starting
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2017, 03:47:14 PM »
Regarding stock / bond investing, IMO, there is no greater resource for someone just starting out than the stock series:

http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/

bri_elena

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 03:54:05 PM »
Nice ! Thanks for the suggestion

StudentEngineer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2017, 03:56:58 PM »
Glad to see a fellow college student here!  I'd read through all of MMM's post from the very beginning and then take a look at the link that dandarc posted.

I'd recommend you to sign up for a vanguard brokerage account.  It'll take a few days to process and then you can move money over to it and start investing.  There are plenty of resources on vanguard.com about how to use their site and investing in general.

Take a look at my acorns review too, its helpful for college students who have little financial knowledge and there are zero fees.

Do you have more specific questions?

bri_elena

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2017, 04:10:50 PM »
Great. Thanks for your in-debth reply and for the study map you sketched for me. I will definitely look everything.