Author Topic: Investing in your company.  (Read 2925 times)

COEE

• Pencil Stache
Investing in your company.
« on: September 06, 2017, 08:50:44 AM »
I am an engineer interviewing with a tech company and was talking with the CEO about business growth and his plan for near-term growth.  He mentioned that he was thinking about pursuing an angel investor or investors.

I am very interested in this company.  Many employees have been there for 15+ years, and they have been through some tough times, but the current CEO has taken a rocky company and made it a solid company - having made a profit in 93% of quarters since he took over.  The company is privately held and has been in business for 20 something years.  And with my potential hire will be at around 22 employees.  He is looking for what I'd consider a small amount of angel investment (in the $300k - $500k range) to finish bringing up a product line. 

I'm wondering if it makes sense to suggest maybe taking on employee investing.  I have a nice chunk of cash ($15-30k) that I could easily invest in the company and make my money back in relatively short order based on salary alone.  Assuming that he pays back his loans with interest, in 4-5 years or less, does it make sense to even mention this option to him.  I'm sure he's thought of it - but maybe offering up some of my cash right away might convince him to give me a yet higher salary.

Most of the employees are more experienced engineers (and mustachian based on the lineup of cars in the parking lot) and perhaps he can raise all of the money within, providing extra incentive for employees to perform as well. A bit of a win-win.

Is this a dumb idea? 

Is this even legal?  What is the difficulties?  SEC oversight?  Does this involve the employees buying shares?  How would the company be valued?  I.E. How would this work?

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
Re: Investing in your company.