Author Topic: Investing in stocks or real estate based on the current p/e ratio  (Read 4525 times)

cburton103

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm still pretty new to the savings/investing/Mustachianism game, so I wanted to run my rough plan by some people smarter than me.

A little about us financially. My wife and I both have high W2 incomes, max out our 401(k) plans (I can put in $53,000 per year because I am self-employed, the wife gets about $25,000/yr including her match), and we just finished paying off my $150,000 in student loans back in September of 2015. Ever since then, we've been accumulating money in our bank accounts deciding what to do next. We currently don't have an HSA as an option, and we're beyond the income level where we can contribute to a traditional IRA with tax deductions.

Goals:
Likely retire early or cut back to part time work at some point in our early thirties (I'm 28 and the wife is 26). We plan on starting a family soon, and we love to spend time with family and camp (mostly backpacking or canoe camping).
Pretty passive income. I don't mind the idea of looking for rental properties, but we almost definitely do not want to manage them. We value our free time a lot, and aren't looking for property management to be a part time job.
Reasonably stable cash flow, but without overly sacrificing long-term total returns.

Rough plans:
Max out both 401(k) plans (~75-80K/yr). Mine is invested in VTSAX(60%), VTIAX(30%), and a small position in VGSLX. My wife's options aren't as good, but she has hers in a higher fee index fund and about 25% in XOM.