Author Topic: Investing in stocks as a US citizen residing abroad.  (Read 2204 times)

karalina

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing in stocks as a US citizen residing abroad.
« on: April 11, 2019, 06:52:42 AM »
Hello,
I am a US citizen (I have dual citizenship) currently, and for the near future, residing in Poland. I am having difficulty figuring out a way to invest in stocks from Poland. I could not do it through my US bank account broker account (they blocked me because I tried to invest from Europe), I have gotten rejected from all the popular online brokers that are US-based because I am residing abroad. Furthermore, I am rejected from EU-based online brokers for investing in US stocks because of my US citizen status. I should also add that I am a beginner, and am not interested in brokers that have a large investment minimum. Any similar situations and solutions, anyone?

reeshau

• Magnum Stache
  • Former locations: Detroit, Indianapolis, Dublin
Re: Investing in stocks as a US citizen residing abroad.
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2019, 07:43:43 AM »
@karalina, which brokerages have you tried, specifically?  I think the most common answers are Charles Schwab and Interactive Brokers, as they are generally more flexible with regards to global residency.  I have not traded in international exchanges with Schwab, but they do say it is possible. (but as broker-assisted, so not at the super-cheap rates for online trading)

Bryan_in_Ger

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2019, 09:33:38 AM »
Hello karalina,

Here's a recent (somewhat longwinded) post about the topic of how to invest as an American abroad: https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/investor-alley/etfs-for-american-(usa)-expats-living-in-the-eu/

Should be useful for you as well.

Cheers,
Bryan

PDXTabs

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2019, 10:18:29 AM »