Author Topic: Investing in Muni Bonds after the rate hike?  (Read 1510 times)

TwistedEther

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing in Muni Bonds after the rate hike?
« on: September 25, 2018, 09:32:34 PM »
I am new to muni bonds. I want to invest some money in tax-exempt state muni bond for the state I reside in (VCLAXhttps://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/profile/vclax). I would appreciate if anyone can answer these questions for me?

1. Would you know how soon can I invest in a municipal bond after fed rate hike to take advantage of higher coupon rates? My understanding here is this - Typically newer bonds issued after rate-rise generate more interest income each month relative to previously issued securities.  I am assuming that VCLAX purchased after rate hike would also have a higher rate compared to purchasing the same bond before the rate hike.  I could be completely wrong with my assumption here since my understanding about bonds is abysmal. So please feel free to correct me.

2. Should I be aware of any potential dangers?  Would you suggest something else that is a similar-styled investment?

3. I take it that I can sell these bonds anytime.  Or do I have to hold them for a minimum holding period?

4. How would I know if I will be exposed to AMT? 

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor
Re: Investing in Muni Bonds after the rate hike?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2018, 10:23:13 PM »
I am new to muni bonds. I want to invest some money in tax-exempt state muni bond for the state I reside in (VCLAXhttps://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/profile/vclax). I would appreciate if anyone can answer these questions for me?