Author Topic: Investing Advice - Case Study: Want to retire in 10-14 yrs  (Read 4538 times)

Vic99

• Stubble
Investing Advice - Case Study: Want to retire in 10-14 yrs
« on: July 25, 2015, 07:43:51 PM »
I am a private school teacher, age 45, new to the forum.  My wife is 40 and a software engineer.  Right now we are trying to retire when my youngest completes high school, he's 3 - so in 14 years (maybe sooner if my school is not a good fit for him)  The idea being that he can get free tuition as long as I'm employed there (I have been there 21 years already).  Currently, tuition is 17k so who knows what it will be in the future.  I also have a 5 year old son, who I also hope goes to my school.

My wife would retire when I do, but might scale down to part time in the last 5 years I'm employed.

MA resident.  We do not plan to move or have any more kids.  House is right size for us, 1500sq ft with half acre yard in semi-farming community.  We do not plan to change jobs until we retire - its possible, but unlikely as we both love our employment situations.

Gross Salary/Wages: Me: 72k/yr, Wife: 102k/yr

Pre-tax deductions: Me: 403b pretax 15% (6% matched by employer then an additional 3% on top), Wife: 401k pretax 143k (5% matched by employer then an additional 5% on top of that).  Me: dental insurance, Wife: Health Insurance

Other Ordinary Income: PV solar panels generate SRECs averaging $1,625/year.  Should get SRECS for seven more years.  Should break even with installation costs in another 3-4 years.  Also have a chevy volt (plug-in electric hybrid) and get nearly all of its fuel from my solar panels and from being able to plug in at work.

I also save a couple thousand dollars per year by heating with wood as all the wood I get is from free sources.  We very rarely use the electric clothes dryer now.  Might even sell it.

I'm starting to go through all my junk and put stuff on craigslist.  All that money will then be invested.