Author Topic: Investing 101  (Read 5501 times)

renodakota

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing 101
« on: February 27, 2014, 04:44:25 PM »
Hi, everyone! This is my first post here. I'm completely new to investing and could use some very basic advice.

My basic situation: Other than my mortgage (which I have under control), I have no debt. I'm already maxing out my 401k contributions. So my next step is taking a significant portion of the $55,000 I have just sitting in my checking account and investing it somewhere. I know MMM has recommended the VTSMX fund - is that my best starting point? Again, I really know nothing about investing, so I'd like to keep things as simple and hands-off as possible. Any recommendations would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

matchewed

• Magnum Stache
Re: Investing 101
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2014, 04:45:13 PM »

Kriegsspiel

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2014, 07:24:26 PM »
Read Bernstein's books, Harry Browne's 17 rules, Wade Pfau's blog, and the Bogleheads site.

Bigger Pockets for real estate investing.

NWOutlier

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2014, 07:43:14 PM »
The jlcollins series is excellent, I personally used his and MMM's advice, I chose VTSAX as my total stock index and I'm up almost 9000.00 since Sept 2013.  Please note; once I had my 401k fully funded, a spousal IRA and a ROTH IRA.. I moved to a taxable (tax efficient) account (also is funded by VTSAX) - I don't have any asset allocation implemented with my Vangaurd stuff because I'm allocated well in my 401k, so I'm heavy stock outside of my tax benefited accounts.  Lastly, I keep money in cash for emergencies....

Read through all of the jlcollins series, it's worth it.

Here are a couple of my favorites to help narrow it down:
http://jlcollinsnh.com/2012/05/09/stocks-part-v-keeping-it-simple-considerations-and-tools/

http://jlcollinsnh.com/2012/05/12/stocks-part-vi-portfolio-ideas-to-build-and-keep-your-wealth/

Best Regards,

Steve

renodakota