Author Topic: Intimidated by Switching to Vanguard  (Read 2800 times)

Goatmilker

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • the Renaissance Housewife
Intimidated by Switching to Vanguard
« on: October 16, 2019, 09:31:55 PM »
Hi, everyone. My husband and I have been investing with Edward Jones for over five years now, mindlessly dumping money in and filling the trash with unopened statements. Tonight I looked at our fees, and they are well over $4000 per year!!

We both have simple IRAs, roths, a DAF and a regular account (single stocks) with EJ. Last year we had to do back door roths, which was a lot of paperwork and IMO confusion, since I ended up moving my Vanguard roth over to EJ. Finally I logged on to all of our accounts (Vanguard, EJ, the DAF site) simultaneously. That's when I noticed all the crazy EJ fees.

I would love to sit down with our adviser and just ask her how to move everything to Vanguard. But she's a 60+year old lady, doesn't understand millennials or FIRE, and obviously wants all of our money in there. When I mentioned opening a DAF she didn't seem too excited about the idea, even though it saves us a lot in taxes and is helping us toward our goal to give more. All that to say, I don't think she has our best interests at heart.

We originally went to a financial adviser because 1) things were getting complicated with Hubby's business, and 2) we thought we would get better returns with an actively managed account. From the beginning we haven't seen better returns, but it has been nice to have our butts covered tax-wise and not think much about investing. I am just wondering if the convenience is worth $350 per month. I feel like there is SO much paperwork and signing things with EJ, and that it might be easier if I can just manage our money online instead of having an in-person meeting or making phone calls (which I hate).