Author Topic: International stocks... a good bet or not?  (Read 5162 times)

DieHard_772

• Pencil Stache
International stocks... a good bet or not?
« on: September 06, 2018, 12:47:08 PM »
Hey All,
I've been investing for a few years now, I have some IRAs and a HSA for me and my wife.
The IRAs are currently in Vanguard Target Date funds, which splits between US and International Stocks (and a bit of bonds).  The HSA is divided among Vanguard US, International, and bond funds.

Recently I have been noticing the negative returns on the international market as compared to the US market.
Looking back at some historical data from Vanguard funds, it also seems that US stocks have historically returned better than International.   (Or am i missing something? not an expert on it, just happened to look at a few Vanguard funds for comparison).

I'm guesstimating I am probably about 1/3 in International stocks right now.
I am wondering if in the future I may focus more on US stocks and less on International stocks.  What stops me from making a change right now is the thought that if I sell international stocks, I will probably regret it more when the International market goes back up than if I just hold what I got.
(Jason Zweig in his book "Your Money and Your Brain" talks about how humans tend to regret losing something they had more than NOT having something they never had).

What do you think about International stocks? Are my concerns too narrow, or outdated?  Are International stocks the way of the future?  (Of course, I know we can't know for sure which way the market is going to go).   Or simply another way to diversify?  Or is a more US-focused portfolio ideal?

Ideas and feedback appreciated.
Thanks

tarheeldan

• Pencil Stache
Re: International stocks... a good bet or not?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2018, 01:03:51 PM »