Author Topic: Initial funding strategy for index investing w/ $200k in cash  (Read 12149 times)

Badass by 41

• Stubble
    • Journal
Initial funding strategy for index investing w/ $200k in cash
« on: February 19, 2014, 11:36:44 PM »
Hi all,

I've done my best to try and find similar topics, so my apologies if this has already been covered.

I'm just getting started on my path to Mustachianism and while all of the index fund advice makes perfect sense to me, I'm not sure about the best strategy for funding my initial investments.

I have $200k in cash which I would like to invest in a series of vanguard funds.  Should I...

a) Open the funds with a lump sum deposit?
b) Distribute the $200k across multiple deposits? And if so, what would a recommended distribution amount and duration be?

Thanks for helping out.

Cheers
- James

Will

• Pencil Stache
  • What the deuce?!?!?
Re: Initial funding strategy for index investing w/ $200k in cash
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 11:42:26 PM »
Hi all,

I've done my best to try and find similar topics, so my apologies if this has already been covered.

I'm just getting started on my path to Mustachianism and while all of the index fund advice makes perfect sense to me, I'm not sure about the best strategy for funding my initial investments.

I have $200k in cash which I would like to invest in a series of vanguard funds.  Should I...

a) Open the funds with a lump sum deposit?
b) Distribute the $200k across multiple deposits? And if so, what would a recommended distribution amount and duration be?

Thanks for helping out.

Cheers
- James

a) Yes.
b) What would be the point of doing that?

dragoncar

• Walrus Stache
  • Registered member

Badass by 41

• Stubble
    • Journal
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 01:27:53 AM »
Will, dragoncar hit the nail on the head.  Dollar cost averaging vs. lump sum.

Thanks dragoncar! I'll check out those links and get back to this thread with any questions.

seeking_north