Author Topic: Oppenheimer vs Vanguard  (Read 9637 times)

ethereality

• Stubble
Oppenheimer vs Vanguard
« on: February 25, 2014, 09:49:55 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm very new at learning about investing, so I'm trying to do as much reading as possible. I found out my grandmother had invested $10,000 for me in '12 for college, which is now at $14000. By the time I found out, I already had a plan in place to pay for college, so I left it to grow. It's invested in Oppenheimer's Main Street Fund A.

I took the advice here and invested the minimum $3000 in Vanguard's VTSMX. One of my goals is to invest $10,000 to get to the Admiral shares by the end of 2014.

Would it make sense to take money out of the Oppenheimer and transfer it to Vanguard? Or, switch entirely to Vanguard altogether. I also have some money in Vanguard's VFINX (based on advice by Ramit Sethi I think).

I will continue all my research, but I appreciate all of your collective wisdom as well!

ethereality

• Stubble
Re: Oppenheimer vs Vanguard
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2014, 09:52:27 PM »
I forgot to add that since I'm self-employed and making more money than I'll need in the near future, with nearly nothing to deduct from my taxes (no car, no house, no dependents), I'm researching SEP IRAs. Thinking of going with Vanguard as well, for simplicity's sake. Anyone have any specific recommendations? I think I could put in at least $3000 up front into a SEP IRA right now.

the fixer

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2014, 10:23:19 PM »
A few comments:
- when you open a SEP IRA with Vanguard, they do not require a $3000 minimum. I think I opened my SEP with something like $600, because it was all I could contribute that tax year. I was worried about this limit and asked on the phone, but they didn't even flinch, it's not a problem.