Author Topic: inheriting an IRA of 225K  (Read 5597 times)

cjw7

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
inheriting an IRA of 225K
« on: May 07, 2014, 06:35:15 AM »
I am new to investing, and I have been reading this forum and researching what I must do with the IRA. I am a non-spouse beneficiary. I know I have to roll it into a IRA BDA and take required distributions starting by the end of 2015. I know I will be taxed on these distributions as they are taken out.
I want to invest through Vanguard. Can I open an IRA with Vanguard and just transfer the whole inherited IRA there? If so, I then would like to invest part of it in some of the higher risk stocks you guys talk about, and part of it in some more stable funds. What do you guys recommend for high risk and stable funds? I am a little confused on the fees charged...do they charge for purchasing funds? I looked at their fee chart, but I don't quite understand. What other fees are charged?
What do you recommend I do with the required distributions? I have rental properties now and I do want to invest in more rental property while it is cheap...should I just take out lumps when I want to buy a property for cash and just pay the taxes on the distribution?

NinetyFour

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
Re: inheriting an IRA of 225K
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2014, 06:57:47 AM »
I also inherited an IRA.  I transferred it to Vanguard with no problem, and invested it all in VTSAX.  No fees.  My distributions are much smaller than yours will be, so I just put them in my bank account or throw them at my mortgage.

hodedofome

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2014, 07:26:00 AM »
What is your plan for 'higher risk stocks?' Unless you have a defined plan for what stocks you will buy, when you will buy them, how much you will buy of each, and when you will sell them...just invest in index funds.

cjw7

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2014, 07:28:37 AM »