Author Topic: Individual 401k and Tax forms  (Read 2481 times)

Grande

• Stubble
Individual 401k and Tax forms
« on: February 13, 2015, 03:04:25 PM »
This is my first year with a individual 401k as my wife is self-employed. Quick question- Is there a tax form that needs to be submitted when filing? From what I can find one needs to only file Form 5500-SF when assets at year end at $250,000 or more. I sent an email to the company I use about this and this seems to be the case. It just seems the IRS would want some filing by the investment company to cross what the tax filer puts on his 1040.   

Any first hand experience?

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
Re: Individual 401k and Tax forms
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 03:07:53 PM »
Didn't think to ask the question, but it hasn't been a problem the last 2 years for us.  Granted the IRS can take a very long time to let you know of an issue, but so far, no problem for us.

Grande

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2015, 03:44:00 PM »
Didn't think to ask the question, but it hasn't been a problem the last 2 years for us.  Granted the IRS can take a very long time to let you know of an issue, but so far, no problem for us.

Really? So we are using the honor system on this? You just fill in the contribution amount? I can't believe they don't have this covered.

Seems like the only rule is you cannot exceed 100% of earned income/$17500.  That of course would be  clear to them on the 1040.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2015, 03:46:42 PM by Grande »

DavidAnnArbor

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2015, 09:09:08 PM »