Author Topic: Ideas for Businesses  (Read 17923 times)

salmp01

• Stubble
Ideas for Businesses
« on: March 08, 2012, 08:04:36 AM »
I read a posting by SCUBA Stache regarding passive income and purchasing ATMs for an investment so I thought I’d start another thread asking for some ideas on businesses.  I currently work in the financial industry and make a little over 100k/year in my 8-5 job.  In addition I own several rental properties and my income here is about 70k/year.   I’ve been feeling that too much of much of my overall net worth is in real estate and have been thinking of diversifying a bit.  I recently sold a property and have around 100k to invest.  I’m considering buying more properties but would be interested in branching off to another business.  I’m not too interested in investing in the stock market (I have a fairly sizable 401k in several index funds) but would like to hear some other ideas.  My goal is to leave my corporate job sometime in the near future.  We are expecting our first child and my wife will be leaving her job this May so I will be working for at least 1-2 more years. 

Scuba Stache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Ideas for Businesses
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 09:17:07 AM »
Hey psalmela, I will also follow this thread closely as I am searching pretty hard for a new idea. I am focused on semi-passive income so my short idea list so far is the following:
Self Service machines - ATMs, Vending Machines(drinks,food,ice), self service machines(photo booth, games, kiddie rides)
Website - Build a niche website and earn by advertising
Real Estate - Rentals
Create smart phone app
Silent investor in a local small business
Every time I see those food carts outside of home improvement stores / bars, I wish I owned them and paid someone to run it (always a line of customers and equipment that only costs ~3-5k to purchase), but these are likely more of a lifestyle business where it is owner operated.

Let's get the ideas flowing!

Sparafusile