Author Topic: I want to start a Vanguard account, but it's my first time, little help please  (Read 5463 times)

greenmimama

• Pencil Stache
I will soon have around 20k to invest (selling a home) and I would like to start a Vanguard account.

What should I look into?

DH and are are 40 and we have a been investing in his 401k mostly just the match but for about 12 years. We have a few Roth iras and have a good amount of equity in our new home.

I know not a lot of details, We are wanting to invest for retirement, thinking that could maybe be in 10 years? It really depends on if my DH stays at his well paying job or if he starts a new business that he is wanting to.

greenmimama

• Pencil Stache
I guess I should add we only have a mortgage, no other debt. and we have around $130 in IRAs and savings, that doesn't include house or cars or anything like that.

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian

greenmimama

• Pencil Stache
https://personal.vanguard.com/us/openaccount

Do you have specific questions?

I'm sorry, I was typing that out quickly as the minions were trying to get my attention before bed.

Yes, my question is, which fund should we start with?

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
https://personal.vanguard.com/us/openaccount

Do you have specific questions?

I'm sorry, I was typing that out quickly as the minions were trying to get my attention before bed.

Since it's a taxable account and for a relatively small amount of money, and not for use for at least 10 years, VTSAX is a good choice. It's nearly 4000 US companies. You own essentially the entire investible US equity market.

Rural

• Walrus Stache
I just opened our first account with vanguard this week (need to post in the Celebrations thread), and I found Vanguard's online fund recommendation tool helpful - it suggested what I'd already been leaning toward based on discussions here (VSMGX).