Author Topic: I Hate Bogleheads - Trying To Make Investment Decisions  (Read 14345 times)

Bill_

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I Hate Bogleheads - Trying To Make Investment Decisions
« on: April 17, 2018, 04:13:22 PM »
Okay, maybe I don't hate them....but I am getting tired of their quasi-religious cult.  I asked for vacation suggestions and Taylor told me to invest in the three fund portfolio....

I'm 40, wife is 38 and I am a fairly experienced investor looking to simplify and get attached to an asset allocation I can live with and not fiddle with constantly.  I have a taxable account (all BRK with low cost basis, not selling) plus between wife and I a 401k, two regular IRA, two Roth IRAs, a Simple IRA and an HSA that we don't touch.

Right or wrong, below are my investing beliefs and they are not likely to change:

I generally follow Warren Buffett and I prefer value stocks
I like getting paid dividends that I can redirect where ever I choose (as a business owner, I want to get paid)
I don't like bonds and the idea of getting a small coupon payment and just my original principal back years later
Stock market seems highly valued right now, bond market is also highly valued, but I accept they could go much higher (stocks that is)
If the market crashed I would like to have funds available to invest
I hate gold as an investment, it looks good on my wife

Outside of my taxable account (100% stock) my retirement accounts are too heavy into bonds (mostly short term and TIPs).  I do feel like I am vulnerable to listening to all the noise and changing my allocation too much and across all those accounts it is a huge hassle.  The two places I never change anything are my taxable account since the capital gains taxes would be so significant and my HSA where I pay high commissions (HSA is 100% in Vanguard Wellesley Income VWINX).

Looking for thoughts and suggestions.  Only the 401k and SIMPLE IRA are receiving new contributions, everything else is pretty much fixed.

Rob_bob