Author Topic: I don't understand the stock market's response to election uncertainty...  (Read 2400 times)

gardenstash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Can someone who knows more about this suggest a theory why the stock market is going up this week in light of the current uncertain Presidential election outcome? I thought the stock market didn't like uncertainty? As of writing this the DJIA is up 1,395 since Nov 2. Is it possibly related to the Q3 numbers? I'm no expert on this at all but am curious about potential theories.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: I don't understand the stock market's response to election uncertainty...
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2020, 08:35:54 AM »
Could be many things.  One possibility: without one party control of the house, senate, and presidency, status quo on many tax and regulatory items is more likely than a lurch toward far-left or far-right policies.  Thus, "more certainty" and a stock market increase.

PDXTabs

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2020, 08:42:04 AM »
It's a bet that Biden will get the presidency while the Republicans keep the Senate. We'll have an adult at the wheel but he won't be able to push through any changes to the status quo. That's pretty much the definition of the stability that businesses crave.

maizefolk

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2020, 08:49:11 AM »
Also, prior to the election, there was a non-trivial amount of fear about protests/riots/violence, particularly if the election was close and disputed.

While we don't seem to have avoided a close election, so far it seems like society as a whole is doing okay sitting and waiting for the final and official outcome. So that's an uncertain risk which is appearing to be less likely than it was perceived to be a week ago.

Edit: But as MDM said, no one really ever knows why the stock market does anything. We can just come up with a set of plausible potential explanations.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2020, 08:51:45 AM by maizefolk »

celerystalks