Author Topic: I cant see the recession yet, pass me the glasses. Recession in 2 years?  (Read 17146 times)

bthewalls

• Bristles
Hello everyone.  I'm fairly new at this and have recently got obsessed with studying the US/global market trends.

I get the feeling the current Asian market slow down will domino across uk/Europe and slightly into the US market. Employment is still high and interest rates relatively low.  The markets show mass exodus anytime there is a dip recently, so everyone is still super sensitive after 2008.

Combined with fed rates going up a bit and the trade war, is it possible we might experience a substantial correction and avoid the brutal recession everyone is waiting for?

First post.... its only a day since I last shaved and barely have 5 o clock yet.

Barry

YttriumNitrate

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I cant see the recession yet, pass me the glasses. Recession in 2 years?
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2018, 06:03:24 AM »
Hello everyone.  I'm fairly new at this and have recently got obsessed with studying the US/global market trends.
I remember when I first got interested in finance...I watched Jim Cramer, read the Financial Times, check my portfolio on a daily basis, and did some stock picking. After a while, I came to the conclusion that "nobody knows nothing" really is true.

Sure, it's possible that a substantial correction is imminent, but don't forget that people were making the same predictions in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017. Instead of "fed rates and trade war" we had fiscal cliff, government shutdown, Zika, Trump election, Korean nukes, Clinton Election, quantitative easing, and so on and so forth as the fears de jour back then.

DS

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2018, 08:45:36 AM »