Author Topic: Husband's 401k through TransAmerica  (Read 5827 times)

DealingWithDreams

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Husband's 401k through TransAmerica
« on: June 12, 2018, 06:40:03 AM »
Hello! My husband has a 401k through TransAmerica. I've been reading a few posts about the high fees for TransAmerica, but I don't think there is much we can to because this is the plan the employer chose. There is a discretionary match at the end of the year by the employer.

My question is: Should we still contribute to the max amount? Or would extra money for investing be better put into a Vanguard investment account.
I am pretty new to MMM and I want to make the best decision right now...

Thank you for reading!

chaskavitch

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Husband's 401k through TransAmerica
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2018, 07:01:50 AM »
What, exactly, is this "discretionary match"?  Is it based on how well the company does?  Is a match guaranteed and just the percentage changes, or is there a chance there's no match at all? 

Do you know what options there are within the plan?  TransAmerica is the 401k provider, but you should have some funds within the TransAmerica platform to choose among.  When you're comparing fees to the 0.04% you can get at Vanguard, EVERYTHING seems really expensive, but depending on how high the fees are on your funds, it's possibly/probably still worth it to contribute for the tax savings, especially if there is a match.

Finally, do you have any other retirement accounts to contribute to?  IRA, Roth IRA, another 401k through your employer?  If those have less expensive options, you may be better off maxing out those accounts before contributing above the match % to your husband's 401k.

DealingWithDreams

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2018, 07:27:51 AM »
@chaskavitch thank you for replying!

Yes, the match is based on how well the company does at the end of the year. It can be anywhere from $2k-4k. And yes- there is a chance that there is no match at all.