Author Topic: HSA, Inflation, and Reimbursement  (Read 10884 times)

Jmoody10

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
HSA, Inflation, and Reimbursement
« on: March 31, 2015, 08:32:21 AM »
This is my first year with an HSA and I am on track to max it out. We have had about $1000 in medical expenses so far (a guy wreck into my wife). We've paid out of pocket for everything so far. I have two questions though:

1. We are young (26/25) and will not reach FIRE for 10-11 years. My understanding of an HSA is that we let the $1000 that we could withdraw sit and grow. We then can withdraw that $1000 whenever you feel like it. From reading, it looks like many will withdraw that amount in the first few years of ER. Would the inflation eat away at that $1000 making it worth less to withdraw (or are you allowed to withdraw the equivalent of $1000 in the future)? I would assume that the big benefit is that the $1000 was able to grow which would cover future medical expenses.

2. I think I know this answer but want to double check. If we eventually receive an insurance payout for the medical expenses, are we still able to withdraw the out of pocket expenses from the HSA? :)

And on a positive note - my wife and I were able to buy a used prius in cash on the private market. Something unheard of in our families. :)

TheAnonOne

• Handlebar Stache
Re: HSA, Inflation, and Reimbursement
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2015, 08:38:33 AM »
Well, the amount isn't really important. Regardless if it is 1k or 50k, inflation would have the same effect in percentage terms. Both investments would also grow at the same rate. So your 1k may turn into 2k and your 50k may turn into 100k after a period of time.

All in all, inflation wouldn't have any more effect than it would on your other investment accounts assuming similar funds.

Paul der Krake

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2015, 09:24:12 AM »