Author Topic: How would you invest $2000 a month?  (Read 8439 times)

rybrad

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How would you invest $2000 a month?
« on: August 24, 2017, 04:20:24 PM »
A little background on myself. Turning 26 soon and planning on retiring early. I have a career lined up as a military officer. I plan on saving 20% of my salary in the Military Thrift Savings Plan and maxing out a Roth IRA every year. My goal is to retire at around 46 years old with the military pension. I also am planning on buying up quite a few rentals. I do have a solid side income of $2000 per month that I'd like to invest, but not sure how. If you had 2k to invest every month with the plan of retiring around 46, what would you do? Stock market index funds? Mutual funds? I have very little knowledge when it comes to investing. Thanks!

BigHaus89

• Stubble
  • Ride the Spiral to the End
Re: How would you invest $2000 a month?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2017, 04:24:09 PM »

Mighty-Dollar

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2017, 01:20:59 AM »
Invest in a total stock market index fund like ITOT through E Trade. Every third month I'd invest in a total bond market index fund like AGG or BND.

moof

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2017, 08:16:33 AM »
With a 20 year horizon and a likely pension and a foundation I would open a Vanguard account and buy VTSAX.  Do your homework about whether your situation allows IRA, Roth IRA, or 401k style contributions to minimize taxes.

Aggie1999

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2017, 08:54:42 AM »
Vanguard account with ~70% in Total Stock Market (VTSAX) and ~30% in Total International Stock Market (VTIAX). Remember to fill all available tax advantaged plans that are available to you and fit your needs first.

Tonyahu

• Stubble
  • Ambassador
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2017, 11:24:30 AM »