Author Topic: How to weather the storm when it comes  (Read 6226 times)

rxmurphy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to weather the storm when it comes
« on: January 16, 2018, 06:12:40 AM »
I've been saving and investing for several years but am by no means an expert. I am about 5 years from retirement and have a mid 6 figure nest egg. I am 90/10 equities/bonds. Most in 401K. If When there is a market correction, how do I protect as much as I can? Move all to bonds and keep investing? My sense is this is akin to timing the market, but I am old enough to have been majorly burned twice. Those times, I did nothing and I recovered, but I had a longer time frame back then. Now not so much. Advice on any resources to help would be appreciated.

Maenad

• Pencil Stache
Re: How to weather the storm when it comes
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2018, 07:26:32 AM »
If you have a shorter timeframe, you should likely change your asset allocation to something more conservative, like 60/40 or 50/50. DH and I are only 2 years projected from RE, but we're in our early 40s, so we if have to keep working for a few more years it's just an inconvenience. If you're closer to 65, it could be disastrous. You may want to look into a "bond tent" like what Michael Kitces wrote about: https://www.kitces.com/blog/managing-portfolio-size-effect-with-bond-tent-in-retirement-red-zone/

rxmurphy

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2018, 08:11:02 AM »
Thanks for the reply and suggestion Maenad. Your assumption is correct, I am 62, so definitely in a different boat than you regarding timelines.

meghan88

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2018, 08:27:32 AM »
Posting to follow.  Same boat, minus a couple of years, and looking to retire in 2.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2018, 08:41:10 AM »