Author Topic: How to get 6k a month off $1MM portfolio?  (Read 30942 times)

Miss Prim

• Bristles
Re: How to get 6k a month off $1MM portfolio?
« Reply #50 on: May 31, 2015, 07:25:23 AM »
I have some experience with multiple myeloma as I have a brother-in-law and a neighbor that has it.  Has he had a stem cell transplant yet?  I am assuming he probably has had one.  When he has the second one, assuming he had enough to do 2, he probably will have only about 2-4 years left after that.  That is what my brother-in-law is facing now.  So probably 10 years give or take a few is probably all he has total. 

So, he should be able to take 6% due to his decreased expected life span.  Sorry you have to deal with this.  It is not fun to watch someone suffer with the treatments for this disease. 

Miss Prim

SnackDog

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: May 31, 2015, 07:32:36 AM »
He will need to boost his savings to almost $2MM. Risk-taking will be required.  Not many stocks will get you there quickly but for example in the last twelve months he could have gotten there with Sony, Apple, Kroger, Netflix, etc.  Everyone has recommended Apple for ages so that could be a safe bet.  On the other hand, he could lose half...
« Last Edit: May 31, 2015, 07:37:10 AM by SnackDog »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #52 on: May 31, 2015, 08:43:13 AM »
For the investing, I think you are getting some bad advice here.

I agree.  Quite poor.

However, when you are in a bad situation (as the given parameters, 6k/mo on 1MM portfolio, or 7.2% WR), there are no "good" answers.

For example, yours:
He needs a portfolio.  A sensible portfolio that includes stocks.  You need an advisory.

This is problematic.