Author Topic: How to deal with losing $117k in stock market?  (Read 42553 times)

Fuperw84

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: How to deal with losing $117k in stock market?
« Reply #150 on: September 18, 2018, 05:42:30 PM »
as a fellow pharmacist, I feel your pain brother. I am sure you are like the rest of us PharmDs and looking for an early retirement... particularly in retail pharmacy, I know burnout comes quick and hard. my .02 :

1) if you are in retail pharmacy, get your BCPS and try to transition into inpatient. the burnout is far less as it is much slower paced and less strenuous.

2) spend your free time reading bogleheads.org. it will teach you everything you need to know about investing. also buy all of john bogle's books and as others have said, jlcollinsnh.com is a fantastic resource.

put the past behind you. you got very fortunate to be one of the lucky few to make it into pharmacy school. so you got very unlucky with some stocks. it all washes out in the end. you win some, you lose some. use this as an opportunity to pick the right path going forward (in other words, index funds).

I took years and a lot of money lost but i'm finally understand it now. There's no magic formula to financial independence and escape retail hell as a pharmacist. You you have to prioritize. Work and save your hard earned money and pay down debts. That is the only way!

Fuperw84

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #151 on: September 18, 2018, 05:50:45 PM »