Author Topic: How to collect profits from Index Funds  (Read 14334 times)

nnhubbard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to collect profits from Index Funds
« on: November 04, 2013, 10:40:17 AM »
I am new to the investing game. I took MMM advice and bought some index funds from Vanguard, VTSMX. They have already made a small profit, but my questions are:

• Once a profit is made, should I take that out of the account, and possibly buy more shares when the stock is lower?
  • Just leave the profits there?

My goal was to invest about $1k/month into VTSMX index funds. Any other advice?

Thanks guys!

Watchmaker

• Handlebar Stache
Re: How to collect profits from Index Funds
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2013, 10:46:01 AM »
I take it by profit you mean that the share price has gone up.  You shouldn't do anything with those shares--leave them alone so over the next several decades they will have time to grow more and more.  It's even more important that in the years that go badly (and there will be some) that you don't panic and sell.

If you meant that the fund had paid out dividends, the best thing to do would be set the account up so the dividends are automatically reinvested in the fund.

nnhubbard

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2013, 10:48:05 AM »
Got it. Will just leave it alone and continue to invest in that fund.

Can you explain more about "set the account up so that the dividends are automatically reinvested"? How would I set this up?

iamlindoro

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Earth Awaits
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2013, 11:10:38 AM »
If you invest directly through Vanguard, you can change your reinvestment elections in My Accounts->Dividends and Capital Gains->Change elections.  You were asked about these elections when setting up the account, too.