Author Topic: How Much You Really Make Investing After Taxes, Fees and Inflation  (Read 6820 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
How Much You Really Make Investing After Taxes, Fees and Inflation
« on: September 05, 2014, 06:18:53 PM »
Great article on Lifehacker: How Much You Really Make Investing After Taxes, Fees and Inflation

Includes a nice visual:

There's the S&P from the latest 30 year period we have - the end of 1983 to the end of 2013.

Your return would be 11.09% nominal - 0.55% expenses (a rather high ER for most of us) - 0.96% dividend taxes - 0.62% capital gains taxes - 2.99% inflation = 5.97% real return.

Sure, those 30 years may not be representative of the future, but in general, to give you an idea of how much the various fees, taxes, and inflation suck up of your return, it's a good representation.

Actual PDF study they're summarizing is here: http://www.thornburginvestments.com/pdfs/TH1401.pdf
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

EscapeVelocity2020

• Magnum Stache
    • EscapeVelocity2020

Ian

• Bristles
Re: How Much You Really Make Investing After Taxes, Fees and Inflation
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2014, 06:35:10 PM »
I would really like to see a similar graph over the long term, especially including worse markets...

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2014, 06:47:48 PM »
All the more reason to manage your fees and your tax load using tax advantaged accounts.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2014, 06:49:22 PM by So Close »

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2014, 07:38:07 PM »