Author Topic: How much money is needed to start investing with vanguard?  (Read 22551 times)

Frank of Denmark

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • I do not suffer from insanity, i enjoy it.
How much money is needed to start investing with vanguard?
« on: March 09, 2013, 08:59:15 AM »
Hi everybody,
I am a newbie mustachian, and i have just starting  to get my s**t together.I like the  idea of investing in Vanguard. Vanguard is present in Denmark, however the impression i got from the introduction part of their website was more along the lines of: "if youre are not a pro investor, we cant/wont do business with you. The first pop-up window contained a notice saying the site was intended for companies, institutions and qualified traders and i had to agree to a license-agreement because some of the data content was "not intended for public use or distribution".
I am not whining here, i am not sure how to proceed.

I am 40 years old, and the time to get to a happier place in life is now, and i know you can help me on my way.

I look forward to your advice.

Best regards
-Frank

chucklesmcgee

• Pencil Stache
Re: How much money is needed to start investing with vanguard?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2013, 01:09:04 PM »
$1000 is the entry fee for some mutual funds, $3000 for most and $5000+ for others in the US. The Vanguard ETF funds are mostly priced under $100 and can be purchased through a standard stock broker in the US, maybe also for Denmark. You probably should just call Vanguard and find out.

Prob8

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2013, 01:33:09 PM »
Step one - read the stock series from Jim Collins (see MMM's post from March 7, 2013)
Step two - follow chucklesmcgee's advice and call Vanguard to see how to begin. 

Although I don't know how things work in Denmark, here in the US they are very much geared to help the individual investor.  They will be happy to talk you through the required paperwork. Good luck!

Frank of Denmark

• 5 O'Clock Shadow