Author Topic: How much does a 1-year buffer improve the 4% SWR?  (Read 19615 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: How much does a 1-year buffer improve the 4% SWR?
« Reply #50 on: June 15, 2014, 06:55:05 PM »
Too bad I don't have a military pension. :p

Have you tried enlisting?

;)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Workinghard

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #51 on: June 15, 2014, 07:22:14 PM »
You mean I have to work for a pension? I tried once, but I didn't have a bachelors and now I'm too old and I still not have a bachelors.  :( 

Have you tried enlisting?

;)

Nords

• Magnum Stache
    • Military Retirement & Financial Independence blog
« Reply #52 on: June 15, 2014, 09:22:22 PM »
My usual response to that comment is "Go buy an inflation-adjusted annuity." 

In your case, however, you're pretty close to Social Security-- and that's all the inflation-adjusted annuity income that you're likely to need.

Workinghard

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #53 on: June 16, 2014, 03:15:58 AM »
Agreed! That's also why we decided to wait on dh's SS. Course I didn't know about waiting and the benefit until I started reading here and on another board.

My usual response to that comment is "Go buy an inflation-adjusted annuity." 

In your case, however, you're pretty close to Social Security-- and that's all the inflation-adjusted annuity income that you're likely to need.

k9

• Bristles
« Reply #54 on: June 16, 2014, 03:49:29 AM »