Author Topic: German Investor Newbie with an Aussie partner looking for some smart advice  (Read 6031 times)

TheMoneyTree

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello fellow mustachians and merry Xmas.
I'm secretly hoping that not everybody out there is stuffing their faces with xmas treats, so that they might take a quick look at my situation and kindly offer some badass advice :)

Here're some stats
f, 32, German (currently living in Germany), no debt, government job with infinite job security (3K monthly income plus about 1,5 K yearly tax return and about 1,4K non-taxable income from a side gig). Have been working full-time for almost five years, sick of it (more later).
I've never been a big spender, so I've managed to save quite a bit but my investment experience isn't exactly vast.
I do have a private retirement plan (Riesterrente) which I've been paying into monthly since 2009, taking full advantage of tax benefits.

When I was 26, I invested 5K in managed funds. Was 'lucky' to get my money back with a whopping interest of 32 euros. That was it with managed funds (mine was suggested by a MBA financial advisor who also sold me my Riesterrente and BU).
I've done a great deal of Tagesgeldkonto-Hopping, cashing in bonuses but never really making much (interest is ridiculously low right now, 1,5% tops).
Last year, I bought 10K in shares of a very stable local business that has managed to pay 8-11% interest pa. Guess what, this year they probably won't be able to pay that much. Trying not to think anything like 'I hate to say I told you so' - this had been solely my own decision based on having watched the business for years. So this money is locked for 4 more years.
I also have a bit of an Amazonian forest (less than 1K in total) but that's clearly not even worth mentioning.