Author Topic: How do I evaluate company's many retirement options?  (Read 1636 times)

LizzyBee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How do I evaluate company's many retirement options?
« on: September 17, 2016, 09:58:59 PM »
I just started investing in the last 5 years, but it is all very confusing to me. I am wondering how I evaluate my company's retirement options.

I work in education in Colorado so I automatically contribute to my pension (Colorado PERA). I am also eligible for a 401K, 403b and 457b. The only 401k plan I am eligible for is the Colorado PERA 401k plan which is somehow associated with my pension (Colorado PERA), but is a separate account with separate contributions. The Colorado PERA 401K plan has the lowest fees of all of my choices by far (0.35%), but I am concerned with putting too much of my money into Colorado PERA because they are constantly in the news for not being able to meet it's future obligations. http://www.denverpost.com/2016/06/21/colorado-pera-investment-returns-at-8-year-low-only-60-4-of-future-obligations-funded/

Is it smart to invest in the Colorado PERA 401K if Colorado PERA isn't financially healthy? Would there ever be a scenario that Colorado PERA cannot meet it's financial obligations for its pension and starts pulling money from the 401K investments? 

There are about 10 companies I could choose to invest with for a 403b and 457b. The lowest fees in any of those companies are .6, but most are closer to 1.0 and above. In general, what do I look at beyond the fees to evaluate where to invest my money? Should I invest in straight index funds or should I balance it out and do some target retirement date funds? Should  the company itself be a consideration? For example, I feel like Primerica and AXA have shady reputations and wouldn't want anything to do with them.

I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed and want to make sure I made the best choices.

humblefi

• Stubble
    • Humble FI
Re: How do I evaluate company's many retirement options?