Author Topic: How did you arrive at your asset allocation?  (Read 11548 times)

tannybrown

• Stubble
How did you arrive at your asset allocation?
« on: June 25, 2012, 06:37:00 PM »
I'm curious as to how the MMM members decided on a particular asset allocation.

ShavinItForLater

• Stubble
Re: How did you arrive at your asset allocation?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2012, 07:08:43 AM »
Personally, my wife and I have been investing for about 15 years together, and we've put almost everything 100% into stock mutual funds, primarily broad market indexes like the S&P500 and Total Stock Market style funds, for many, many years.  There are minor exceptions--she had a retirement account from a previous employer that was evenly split among a bunch of asset classes, and we dabbled with a few individual stocks for a little while, we included some international funds, but mostly it was all broad stock market indexes.  The theory really was we have a really long time horizon for investing, so it makes sense to take equity risk for equity returns.

A few years ago I read a book about asset allocation written for financial advisors, rather skeptically at first because I thought all this modern portfolio theory stuff looked overly complicated and must be for people afraid of stock market risk.  It opened our eyes to why including other asset classes make sense.  Since then we have moved a sizeable chunk into a REIT fund, and moved more into international funds (again broad indexes).  We conceptually started with the book's argument for even weightings for different asset classes, but it also showed how most of the benefit of other asset classes came with even small percentages allocated to those other asset classes.  Based on that we've taken it more gradually--right now there is about 10% in REIT and 10% in International funds, or 20% in each if you don't count the elephant in the room (read on).  The rest of the mutual fund money is in S&P / total stock market funds.