Author Topic: High Yield Vanguard Index Funds (Tax Efficient)  (Read 11014 times)

NWOutlier

• Stubble
High Yield Vanguard Index Funds (Tax Efficient)
« on: March 07, 2014, 06:31:21 PM »
Hi Everyone,

First - let me start off with "I am a newbie" - There... I said it.

Ok - I have a 401k, spousal roth IRA, roth IRA for myself, a cap one 360 savings and a taxable Vanguard account that I want to use to build cash flow and work towards ER.... so, I do not know how to evaluate an appropriate index fund to use in the taxable account...

I was going to use an REIT, but thankfully, through this blog and bogleheads - I've learned that REIT's (VGSLX or https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snapshot?FundId=5123&FundIntExt=INT) are taxed differently and should be placed in my tax advantaged accounts.  Great, but I do love the just about 4% yield from dividends...

so, I looked for something else, and found VWEAX https://personal.vanguard.com/us/funds/snapshot?FundId=0529&FundIntExt=INT#tab=0.  a 0.13 exp ratio and a 4ish % yield....

My question isn't "should I buy VWEAX?" - more so, how can I evaluate the fund from the information provided from the site?  how do I know this is or is not tax efficient?  what are the key points I should focus on?

Anyway, any input is very welcomed, and I do not hold anyone responsible for my decisions on purchases... I'm just looking for a sounding board..

Let me have it! start shootin!

Thanks in advance,

Steve

NWOutlier

• Stubble
Re: High Yield Vanguard Index Funds (Tax Efficient)
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2014, 06:43:41 PM »
Ah, another question to include; when looking at each index fund, if one pays higher on the dividend (4 cents instead of 3 cents for example) -- how can I tell which index fund is better?  I can't base my decision on the dividend amount, right?