Author Topic: High dividend stock swapping?  (Read 4641 times)

iknownothing

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
High dividend stock swapping?
« on: December 18, 2014, 01:56:59 PM »
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new here, this is my first post. I just found the MMM blog last week, and have been reading it during pretty much all of my free time, and it's totally opened my eyes to what I should be doing! I'm a total investment newbie, and have a lot of research to do, but wanted to pose a quick question. I'm sure there is some reason this isn't going to be a valid strategy to increase wealth, but I will throw it out anyway:

What about an active strategy where you buy very high yield dividend stocks before the in-dividend date, and then sell right after the ex-dividend date to buy another high dividend stock. You would have a bunch of stocks that you rotate through collecting dividends. There is obviously tax to be paid on the dividend itself. Assuming the actual stock price is the same when you buy and sell, does each transaction get taxed as well?

As I said, I'm sure there's a reason why it won't work, just let me know gently!

Thanks!

randommadness

• Stubble
Re: High dividend stock swapping?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2014, 02:05:38 PM »
When a company pays out a dividend, that money has to come from somewhere. Namely it comes from the assets of the company. Theoretically the efficient market then recognises that reduction in the value of the company and reduces the share price by exactly the quantum of the dividend payout. Therefore your strategy does not build wealth.

+1

AND unless you're doing this with a lot of money you'd be taking a hit regularly in transaction fees. For instance if you had a $1000 purchase, Sharebuilder, you'd pay $13.90 to get in and get out. If you had a 6% quarterly dividend stock you'd see 1.5%, or $15 in that trade. Would only make $1.10 but also have potentially lost value when the dividend was announced/paid like Cathy said.

skyrefuge