Author Topic: Help w/understanding my wife and myself's investments  (Read 5298 times)

uwbadgers19

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help w/understanding my wife and myself's investments
« on: June 01, 2013, 10:44:33 AM »
Hi everyone!

A relative noob here, been reading the forums now for a few months.  Just wanted to give a summary of our retirement assets so far and just get any feedback/thoughts on the overall scenario.  Anything big I'm overlooking?  Are we doing well, just keep saving?  Other thoughts/opinions?

I feel we are doing pretty well for our age but please give any thoughts on good stuff or bad stuff that might jump out at you.  Thanks in advance!

My Wife:
Mortgage Loan Originator US Bank
Income 65k (in 2012) to ??? in future
---My wife currently is teamed with another orignator who is retiring in July this year.  Her income should go up a fair amount as they currently split loan payouts 30/70.  While that might sound crazy, getting into mortgage at age 27 was a pretty big deal and based on how the soon to be retiree has done, things should be looking up!  She hopes to hit around 75-80k this year.  Her teammate normally has done over 100k and been in the business ~20 years.

401k:  30k

8% is put in monthly.  4% employee match for a total of 12%/month

----Vanguard 2050 Fund (VFIFX)---19k
Expense Ratio: 0.18

----US Bank Stock (USB)-------------11k
Expense Ratio: 0.13

Pension: 3.3k
In the account screen, there are 2 parts.  Once says it is a "cash balance plan." 

The other says Pension plan and lists:
Estimated benefit monthly: $70
Payment From:  annuity
Normal Retirement Date:  8/1/2048

Both of them say "eligible" as well.

So I'm not really sure what exactly those 2 things mean.  Of course, they won't matter for a while but I just want to understand.  Maybe they both are the same thing, just 2 ways to take the pension when it's time?

Roth:  39k
30k---FAAGX
3k---FGIAX
3k---FRSLX
2k---AGTHX
1k---NEWFX