Author Topic: Help with AA - vanguard based.  (Read 5407 times)

MEJG

• Bristles
Help with AA - vanguard based.
« on: July 22, 2015, 11:11:04 AM »
Hi Everyone,

Please help me asses my asset allocation. We've got a Roth IRA and a TIRA at Vanguard, and soon there will be a taxable account as well.

I've been using YaleU's unconventional Lazy portfolio since mid 2011 and Vanguard tells me my ROI over that time frame was 11.9% So not bad at all!  But after doing more research this year I feel it is to heavy in bonds for me.  Now that we've got the debt under control I want to work on optimising out investments.

We're definitely buy and hold style investors, rebalance 2-3x year, should probably stop that and only do it once.  Currently saving ~50% and looking to FIR(e) in 15 years 

Current Asset Allocation is:
VTSMX: Vanguard total stock Market index find: 30%
VGSIX: Vanguard Reit index fund: 20%
VGTSX: Vanguard total international stock market index fund: 15%
VUSTX: Vanguard Long term treasury fund: 15%
VIPSX: Vanguard inflation protected securities fund: 15%
VEIEX: Vanguard emerging markets index fund - 5%

My gut is saying I should drop VUSTX and VIPSX and increase percentage of VTSMX.  All thoughts, comments and links welcome (I've recently read the JLcollins stock series- every informative).

Thanks!

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Help with AA - vanguard based.
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2015, 12:52:32 PM »
We're definitely buy and hold style investors, rebalance 2-3x year, should probably stop that and only do it once.  Currently saving ~50% and looking to FIR(e) in 15 years 

My gut is saying I should drop VUSTX and VIPSX and increase percentage of VTSMX.  All thoughts, comments and links welcome (I've recently read the JLcollins stock series- every informative).
Do you have an asset allocation strategy?  The word rebalance implies that you do, so just checking....