Author Topic: Help on 401k investment choices  (Read 1787 times)

Nodip

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help on 401k investment choices
« on: November 22, 2018, 06:09:18 PM »
Hi,

I am new to investing and just started reading MMM and J collins stock series and looking at my investment options in 401k (have about 30k balance)for vanguard total stock market index funds  but only see the below options and don't see the ER's  for each fund and so reached out to HR to get the details but in the meantime,any help choosing the best one ? By default invested everything in 2050 Target fund and so should I move everything  to  BlackRock iShares S&P 500 Index Fund  and if I change the investment selection will there be any fees ?

Attached the List with the ER's
« Last Edit: November 23, 2018, 11:33:37 AM by Nodip »

FIREball567

• Stubble
Re: Help on 401k investment choices
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2018, 06:50:07 PM »
Either one of the target funds or the ishare S&P 500.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

RWD

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2018, 07:36:29 PM »
What are the expense ratios? I suspect S&P 500 fund has the lowest expense ratios. There shouldn't be any charge for reallocating your investments and changing your investment selection.

Steeze

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2018, 08:30:34 PM »
Sp500 is probably the lowest cost. Target date is a solid choice for a beginning investor too. Either is not a bad choice for now, I usually recommend a target date fund to people who ask me for advice in person. Focus on cutting costs and saving more, that will have the biggest impact on your portfolio.

Don't worry so much about a fund performing better by 1% a year or costing an extra 0.1% in fees when you can and should focus on saving 10% more and earning 10% more. Of course, optimization is fun too.

MustacheAndaHalf

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2018, 02:41:32 AM »