Author Topic: Help me understand/improve my portfolio!  (Read 3440 times)

VioletVixen

• Stubble
Help me understand/improve my portfolio!
« on: November 01, 2015, 11:57:21 PM »
Hello,

I started learning about investing this past Spring and thought I had my ducks in a row. I am aiming for an 80/20 allocation. Based on a previous Q&A thread, I determined I was on the right track. So why does Mint say I am down by almost half of what I paid? Please help me understand why I seem to be losing money instead of gaining it...

Details are in the attachments.

Thank you!

Making Cents

• Stubble
Re: Help me understand/improve my portfolio!
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2015, 12:11:21 AM »
I can't tell you whether or not you are actually losing or gaining, but I can say for sure that Mint's Investment tab is FULL of known bugs and should not be trusted. Go to the source it is pulling and verify the info is correct. If it doesn't match up, then Mint is wrong, not Fidelity, for example.

I have been told before on Mint that my brand new Betterment IRA account had lost over a million!

I have also noticed that if you've only recently linked an investment account in Mint, then it screws up any view that is longer than the data it has access to. So for example if it has 3 months of data and you click to see a year's performance, it will show crazy red losses regardless of what's actually happening.

Use Mint for everything else, including reliable investment totals on the Overview tab, but don't ever look at their investment tab. Go to Vanguard or whoever's page instead...and don't peek too often anyway ;-) .

Lookilu

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2015, 10:07:43 AM »

Use Mint for everything else, including reliable investment totals on the Overview tab, but don't ever look at their investment tab. Go to Vanguard or whoever's page instead...and don't peek too often anyway ;-) .

+1 Good advice from Making Cents on both counts. :)

VioletVixen

• Stubble