Author Topic: Investing in a bull market  (Read 27604 times)

kelp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Investing in a bull market
« on: May 16, 2018, 06:36:50 PM »
Hey everyone!

I'm new to MMM and investing, and was hoping for some advice on whether or not to buy in to the current market, which sits at a record high.  I am investing diligently through my 401(k), but am currently sitting on a sizable amount of cash that is just wasting away in a money market account.  I'm afraid to go all in with my savings now as opposed to waiting for the next inevitable crash of the market.  I'm 22 and so I know that I have time on my side, but does that still apply if I'm trying to retire in 10-12 years?

thriftyc

• Bristles
Re: Investing in a bull market
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 06:43:36 PM »
The market hits new highs all the time.  No way of knowing if there is a correction coming soon, but one will come, as they always do.  Just just a matter of when, not if.   If you are that concerned, I suggest going into the market with some allocation to a bond index.  For example: 60% broad based stock index, 40% aggregate bond index.  If there is a correction, you simply rebalance back to this allocation allowing you to buy stocks at the low price.   Kinda like buying them while they are on sale.

Either way, get in the market, it goes up 70% of the time.

maizefolk

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2018, 07:10:39 PM »
Here are the odds that you'll be better off sitting in cash, bonds, or stocks over different lengths of time (based on Shiller's historical dataset on stocks, bonds, and inflation since 1870):

At anything more than two years, cash is never going to be the best of the three options.

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 07:46:01 PM »
“Time in the market, not market timing” is how the saying goes.

Equally applicable investing advice: “just keep swimming, just keep swimming”.

Radagast

• Magnum Stache
  • One Does Not Simply Work Into Mordor