Author Topic: Index Funds vs. Variable Life Insurance  (Read 3072 times)

sjmeche

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Index Funds vs. Variable Life Insurance
« on: May 13, 2018, 08:06:16 AM »
I am new to the FI community and I have been learning so much in the past 6 months.  Currently, I am working on optimizing my expenses.  I have $240,000 in my 401K at age 31 and am looking on how to invest my extra money each month.  I am trying to "retire" in the next 10 years and most of my eggs are in the 401K basket, which i can not touch until age 59 1/2.  My other investments are that i bought my first rental property this year and i have a variable life insurance policy through Northwestern Mutual.  The reason i have a variable life insurance policy is due to both my good friend and brother-in-law working as financial advisors for Northwestern Mutual and New York Life, respectively.  From everything i have read, the FI community is big on low cost index funds.  I really want to put some of my savings ($50K) in these funds, but my "financial advisers" are not really high on these.  They continue to recommend the variable life insurance due to it always gaining 4 - 5% and you can take it out take free.  At least both of their advice is consistent.  I am reaching out to this community to see where you guys stand or if you have a different recommendation for me. 

Thanks in advance for your help

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
Re: Index Funds vs. Variable Life Insurance
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2018, 08:40:25 AM »