Author Topic: Help me figure out retirement planning  (Read 2550 times)

clarkai

• Stubble
Help me figure out retirement planning
« on: August 17, 2016, 05:28:40 PM »
I'm going to admit upfront that I'm feeling a little overwhelmed- I've never done this before, so I'm guessing this will be an easy, straightforward answer, I just don't know it yet. I just started a new job, and as a teacher, we have some options for retirement. Basically, I want to know if I should use the plans provided (there is no matching) or do the minimum required and dump my savings in a vanguard mutual fund. I also am not in a rush to retire; I just want to be smart with my money so I don't have to worry about it.

There are two plans available to me; the first is a 401(a) and the other is a 403(b).

For the 401(a), we are required to put in 5% of our income, but we may choose to put in up to 15%. Once we choose, we're stuck there for life, unless we change districts, which I do not intend to do. As far as I can see, these are the key points of the 401(a):

- is defined benefit plan with a defined contribution component. When I retire, I will receive a monthly defined benefit, and the results of the defined contribution component.
- Investment Options:
Option A: 5% all ages
Option B: 5% up to age 35; 6% ages 35 through 44; or 7.5% age 45 and older
Option C: 6% up to age 35; 7.5% ages 35 through 44; or 8.5% age 45 and older
Option D: 7% all ages
Option E: 10% all ages
Option F: 15% all ages
- I can choose to "Build and Monitor Funds" from:
     - Emerging Market Equity Index
     - U.S. Small Cap Value Equity Index
     - Global Equity Index
     - U.S. Large Cap Equity Index
     - Socially Responsible Balanced
     - Washington State Bond Fund
     - Short Term Investment Fund