Author Topic: Help - Index Funds/EFTs?  (Read 1680 times)

BethMI

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help - Index Funds/EFTs?
« on: November 07, 2019, 10:14:03 AM »
Hello -
I am just getting started with this whole process and decided I want to open a taxable account with Vanguard that I can start putting a large chunk of my income into every month and start pulling dividend income from in 10 years (I already have a SEP, Roth and Trad IRA).
In all the MMM it says to just invest in index funds....how do I know which ones to pick?
Even after a lot of research online I'm having a hard time distinguishing between Index Funds and EFTs - are they the same thing? A lot the Vanguard funds that I thought were Index Funds seem to be EFTs....

I just want to know what funds to put the money into so I can get going!
Any help is greatly appreciated!

BECABECA

• Bristles
  • Retired since July 2017, not bored yet!
Re: Help - Index Funds/EFTs?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2019, 10:32:23 AM »
Index funds are funds that seek to perform the same as an entire index of stocks. It’s just saying you want to invest in a big basket of stock, not individual stocks. It’s also saying that you want to invest in a fund that seeks to move with the indexed market, since the market does well, as opposed to investing in a fund that does risky things to try to beat the market, since this almost always performs worse than the market.

Vanguard sells lots of index funds. The most popular around here is VTSAX, which is basically the entire U.S. stock market. VTSAX is the mutual fund version of the total U.S. stock market index. VTI is the equivalent Exchange Traded Fund (ETF) version of the total U.S. stock market index. This Mutual Fund and this ETF are nearly the same, they just are purchased differently.

I would very highly recommend reading The Simple Path to Wealth by JL Collins, since it really explains all these concepts well for people who are very new to all the investing terms.